Myelom-Gruppe Rhein-Main

Last modified: 12 January 2013

Frequently Asked Questions

How common is multiple myeloma?

Multiple myeloma is the second most frequent form of malignant bone marrow disease and belongs to the non-Hodgkin group of lymphomas. It is a relatively rare form of cancer that accounts for roughly one percent of all cancers and roughly two percent of all deaths from cancer. According to estimates by the European Network of Cancer Registries, there are 21,420 new cases of multiple myeloma in Europe each year and around 15,000 deaths from this illness. It is estimated that 60,000 people in Europe are currently living with this disease (UICC).

Which groups are most frequently affected?

Most patients with multiple myeloma are over 60. This leads to the conclusion that the probability of falling ill with this form of cancer increases with age. Nevertheless, many younger people also suffer from multiple myeloma.

Is there a cure for multiple myeloma?

With multiple myeloma, permanent healing is only possible in cases of localised occurrence at just one point (solitary multiple myeloma) and, with younger patients, following an allogenic bone marrow transplantation (from another person). Apart from this, multiple myeloma is incurable with current treatment methods. The aim of therapy is therefore the prolongation of life and optimisation of the quality of life.

What is the life expectancy of people with multiple myeloma?

The average life expectancy from the time of diagnosis is frequently stated as five to eight years. However, these are average values only, and the life expectancy can be considerably longer. According to a study by the European Cancer Register (2002), only around one third of all multiple myeloma patients live longer than five years.

Top of page

Is the illness contagious or hereditary?

Multiple myeloma is not contagious.

Whilst first-degree relatives (parents, brothers and sisters) of multiple myeloma patients have an increased risk of suffering the illness themselves, this is not a hereditary disease in the narrower sense.

How should I interpret "Prognosis information"?

Please bear in mind that even if the diagnosis is the same, the progression of the illness and the possible forms of therapy can differ greatly. Whilst statistics are fundamentally significant for the progression of one's own illness, one should not make the mistake of over-estimating their value or of misinterpreting them and losing hope as a result.

Here are a few words of explanation: A term that frequently crops up is the so-called average life expectancy. An average life expectancy of, for example, five years, does not, as frequently assumed, mean that one has only five more years to live, but rather, that half of patients survive for longer than five years. This group of patients that achieve the average (central value) also includes those who may possibly even have been cured, i.e. in principle have a normal life expectancy.

Furthermore, results of studies apply only for the past. However, because, as a rule, the data has been collected a certain time ago, the very latest therapeutic developments that are constantly further improving the chances of cure have, of course, not yet been taken into account. In addition, all studies are based on just one specific sub-group of patients. No study can take full account of all patients.

Each person reacts individually to medicine and other measures. Consequently, any prognosis, for example on the basis of specific risk factors, can only be made for a specific individual case. For this reason, there is no substitute for personal consultation with your doctor. Despite everything, it is not possible to precisely predict the actual development of one's own illness.

Myelom-Gruppe Rhein-Main

Letzte Aktualisierung: 12 Januar 2013

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Wie häufig ist das Multiple Myelom/Plasmozytom?

Das Multiple Myelom/Plasmozytom ist die zweithäufigste bösartige Erkrankung des Knochenmarks und gehört in die Gruppe der Non-Hodgkin-Lymphome. Es ist eine relativ seltene Krebserkrankung und macht etwa ein Prozent aller Krebserkrankungen und etwa zwei Prozent aller durch Krebs verursachten Todesfälle aus. Schätzungen der Europäischen Krebsregister zufolge erkranken in Europa jedes Jahr 21.420 Menschen neu an Multiplem Myelom/Plasmozytom, und etwa 15.000 Menschen sterben daran. Schätzungsweise 60.000 Menschen in Europa leben zurzeit mit dieser Krankheit (UICC).

Wer ist am häufigsten betroffen?

Die meisten Patienten mit Multiplem Myelom/Plasmozytom sind älter als 60 Jahre. Daraus wird geschlossen, dass die Wahrscheinlichkeit, an dieser Krebsform zu erkranken, mit zunehmendem Alter steigt. Allerdings erkranken auch viel jüngere Menschen am Multiplen Myelom/Plasmozytom.

Ist das Multiple Myelom/Plasmozytom heilbar?

Beim Multiplen Myelom/Plasmozytom ist eine dauerhafte Heilung lediglich bei einem nur an einer Stelle lokalisierten Befall (solitäres Multiples Myelom/Plasmozytom) und bei jüngeren Patienten nach einer allogenen (von einem anderen Menschen) Knochenmarktransplantation möglich. Mit den derzeitigen Behandlungsmethoden kann das Multiple Myelom/Plasmozytom ansonsten nicht geheilt werden. Ziel der Therapie ist es daher, Ihr Leben zu verlängern und Ihre Lebensqualität zu optimieren.

Wie ist die Lebenserwartung von Menschen mit Multiplem Myelom/Plasmozytom?

Die durchschnittliche Lebenserwartung ab der Diagnose wird häufig mit fünf bis acht Jahren angegeben. Allerdings sind dies nur Durchschnittswerte, die Lebenserwartung kann also auch deutlich darüber liegen. Nach einer Studie der Europäischen Krebsregister (2002) leben nur etwa ein Drittel aller Patienten mit Multiplem Myelom/ Plasmozytom länger als fünf Jahre.

Seitenanfang

Ist die Erkrankung ansteckend oder vererbbar?

Das Multiple Myelom/Plasmozytom ist nicht ansteckend.
Zwar haben erstgradige Verwandte (Eltern/Geschwister) von Patienten mit Multiplem Myelom/Plasmozytom ein erhöhtes Risiko, selbst daran zu erkranken, es handelt sich aber nicht um eine Erbkrankheit im engeren Sinne.

Wie deute ich "Prognose-Angaben"?

Denken Sie bitte daran, dass es bei gleicher Diagnose sehr unterschiedliche Krankheitsverläufe und Therapiemöglichkeiten geben kann. Statistiken sind für den eigenen Krankheitsverlauf zwar grundsätzlich von Bedeutung, man sollte aber nicht den Fehler begehen, ihre Aussagekraft zu überschätzen oder falsch einzuschätzen und deshalb die Hoffnung zu verlieren.

Hierzu einige erklärende Worte: Eine Angabe, die immer wieder auftaucht, ist die so genannte mediane Lebenserwartung. Eine mediane Lebenserwartung von beispielsweise fünf Jahren bedeutet nicht, wie vielfach angenommen, dass man nur noch fünf Jahre zu leben hätte, sondern, dass die Hälfte der Patienten länger als fünf Jahre überleben. Innerhalb dieser Gruppe von Patienten, die den Median (Zentralwert) erreichen, befinden sich dann auch diejenigen, die möglicherweise sogar geheilt sind, also eine im Prinzip normale Lebenserwartung haben.

Außerdem gelten Untersuchungsergebnisse nur für die Vergangenheit. Weil aber die Datenerhebung in der Regel schon einen gewissen Zeitraum zurückliegt, können allerneueste therapeutische Entwicklungen, die die Heilungsaussichten immer weiter verbessern, natürlich noch nicht berücksichtigt worden sein. Zudem beziehen sich die Untersuchungen immer nur auf eine bestimmte Teilgruppe von Patienten. Die Gesamtheit aller Patienten kann in keiner Untersuchung vollständig erfasst werden.

Jeder Mensch reagiert auf Medikamente und andere Maßnahmen individuell. Eine Prognose, beispielsweise anhand von bestimmten Risikofaktoren, kann also nur speziell für den Einzelfall gestellt werden. Deshalb ist das persönliche Gespräch mit Ihrem behandelnden Arzt durch nichts zu ersetzen. Wie sich die eigene Krankheit dann tatsächlich entwickelt, ist trotz allem nicht genau vorhersehbar.